Quick reminder: why I’m running

I’ve previously written in some detail about why I’m running this year’s London Marathon (you can read that here, if you’re so inclined…). But here’s a quick reminder…

I’m running this year’s London Marathon because, well… because. Essentially, I used to be fat. I took up running, and now I’m not. Two years ago I couldn’t have run 2.6 miles (really, I actually couldn’t), now I’m aiming to do 26.

Far more importantly, I’m running to raise money for the South West Children’s Heart Circle.

Sob story alert: I was born with a hole in my heart. It was operated on when I was seven. I’m fine now. The Heart Circle provide support to families of children undergoing heart surgery in the south west (including mine, when I had my operation), and also help fund equipment for hospitals in the region. It’s a very worthy cause, honest.

I know plenty of people ask for sponsorship money, and things are expensive around here, so please don’t feel pressured to donate. But I’d genuinely be very grateful for any donations you are able to make – which you can do quickly and easily by clicking the big ‘Just Giving’ button below.

PS: if you’re eligible, please remember to tick the Gift Aid box. That way more money goes to a great cause!
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

