Two days to go… feeling very real now

Took a trip to London’s Excel exhibition centre yesterday. Not a normal place I visit on a Thursday, and a bit of trek involving a train, a tube and a short run on the Docklands Light Railway. But it was worth the detour to pick up a bit of paper.

thumb_IMG_4863_1024

Yup, that’s my London Marathon race number. And things feel very real now.

The expo was also a reminder that the London Marathon is on a scale far beyond any run I’ve done previously. That should be pretty obvious – as glamorous as the Wokingham Half-Marathon is, it doesn’t finish on The Mall in front of Buckingham Palace – but it’s something I’m still coming to terms with.

The number and race chip collection area at the expo was massive, and just a precursor to a big running exhibition that was part trade show (a good chance to stock up on energy gels), part running festival (I could have entered a lot of overseas marathons), and part charity fundraising celebration.

It was pretty big – because there are a lot of people doing the London Marathon. Again, this isn’t exactly news, but it does explain why I’ve spent as much time in the last week plotting logistics as I have plotting my race strategy. Which, I should point out, I still haven’t decided upon…

Still, I now have my marathon race number, race chip, kit bag and final instructions…

Yup, shit just got real.

Cue increased levels of pre-marathon paranoia, and frequent outburst of ‘what am I doing…?’

I’m running the 2016 London Marathon to raise money for the South West Children’s Heart Circle. Please sponsor me on my Just Giving page. Click the button below to be taken there. Thanks!
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

6 comments

  1. Pingback: What’s in a (race) number? | Atters Goes Running
  2. Pingback: Houston Marathon countdown: Let’s go expo | Atters Goes Running

Leave a Reply

