The last race of 2016: finishing where I started (but four seconds slower)…

My first paid-for race of 2016 was the Richmond Park 10k, way back on January 10. So it was kind of fitting that today I completed my 19th and final race of the year… on the Richmond Park 10k.

In January, I completed the hilly course in 41m 55s. Today my time was… 41m 59s. Four seconds different. Over ten kilometres. Actually, the difference came over less distance than that: according to my Garmin, I set identical times of 21m 01s over the first 5k of each run.

I can’t even blame the conditions for my disgraceful collapse in pace by four whole seconds. The weather records on my Garmin data showed the temperature on both days was an identical 6.1 Celsius.

The course was the same. The weather was the same. And my time was, give or take four seconds, the same. So… have I made any running progress at all this year?

Well yes. Of course I have. It’s been quite a year, in fact.

I’ve competed in 19 paid-for races – 20 if you could the Run the Woodlands 5k (which I tend to leave out because it only costs a dollar to enter…) – in two countries.

At the start of this year I’d never run a half marathon. Now I’ve done four.

So those 19 races included four half marathons, ten 10ks, three ten-milers and one random seven-miler.

I ran my first sub-40 minute 10k race (just: it was a 39m 58s on the flat, fast Chilly 10k at Castle Combe race circuit).

I also set a new ten-mile race PB.

I tackled my first big overseas race, the Houston Half Marathon.

That’s a pretty good list. Anything else? Oh yes, almost forgot…

I ran the London Marathon. I ran a marathon! The London Marathon. The actual London Marathon! In 3h 28m 17s.

I still sometimes can’t quite believe I did that…

In other words, I’ve done quite a lot when it comes to running this year. And this post isn’t an excuse so I can show off my achievements in a #humblebrag sense or anything. Honest.

No, I merely list my 2016 progress as a way of illustrating one of the strange contradictions of running. Running a race is a battle between you and the clock. The clock doesn’t lie. Your finish time is the ultimate record of how well you’ve run, and finish times are the easiest way to chart progress and form.

So being able to compare two race times set on the same course in the same conditions 11 months apart should give me a sense of my running progress, form and achievements. But… it really doesn’t. My running efforts in 2016 really shouldn’t be judged on dropping four seconds on a 10k course around Richmond Park.

In other words… the clock does lie, after all. Well, that’s my excuse anyway, and I’m sticking to it…

img_5976

The final medal of 2016. Festive goodness…

2 comments

  1. Pingback: The 2016 Atters Goes Running Awards | Atters Goes Running
  2. Pingback: Houston Marathon countdown: final training run done (with extra bracing sea breeze) | Atters Goes Running

Leave a Reply

